Diet Downfall #1 – You’re starving, and all you have to eat is junk

This is going to be another feature of this blog. Whenever I do something that jeopardizes my weight loss attempt, I’m going to blog about it. I’m going to do my best to be honest and try to figure out a solution to those problems so that I do not do them again. Hopefully if I can learn from my mistakes and figure out exactly what I did wrong, I won’t make the same mistakes again.

The Situation:
I’m sure I’m not the only one who’s been there. You’re doing well. You’re eating what you’re supposed to be eating. You think, Finally! This is the time I lose weight for real! And then it hits you. The hunger. All of a sudden, you’re really hungry, and the only thing available to eat is something that’s high in calories and low in nutritional value.

This is what happened to me yesterday. I went straight from class to a friend’s house, and the only food that we had to eat while we were there was cookies. I ate them because I was hungry and they were there, and I probably ate more than I should have. Okay, I know that I ate more than I should have. But that’s what you do when you’re starving. When we left, it was pretty late, and I was hungry for something that wasn’t sweet to balance out all the sugar. My boyfriend and I ended up stopping at a gas station and getting food there. It was fried and not really the best option (it wasn’t even vegetarian), but I was so hungry and really wanted something warm and not sugary, and that was what was most convenient.

The Solution:
Obviously in the future, the best thing to do would be to make sure that I have healthy snacks and foods with me when I go places. In all honesty, I was the one who brought the cookies to the thing. We were having a celebration for the last day of class yesterday, and I thought people would enjoy cookies more than they would something healthy. Really, I should have just made something healthy – or have made the cookies but made sure that I also had something healthy that I could eat later. I knew that I was going to be gone for a long time. I should have been better prepared.

In the future, I definitely think that it would be a good idea to have some sort of healthy snack with me at all times. When I know that I’m going to be a gone for a really long time, it might also be good to make a sandwich or something ahead of time. My boyfriend actually made that suggestion, and I think it’s a good one. I think that’s what I’m going to do from now on. If I’m leaving the house, I should make sure to have at least one healthy, vegan snack with me. If I know I’m going to be gone for several hours, I should try to have a snack and a sandwich or something with me. I should also make sure to bring snacks with me to share with people that are more healthy than cookies. 🙂

2 responses to “Diet Downfall #1 – You’re starving, and all you have to eat is junk

  1. First of all… YOU. ARE. AWESOME. I have a lot of respect for you being so open and candid on this site. Keep on going.
    Secondly… you’re right about always having something with you. I don’t know where you live or what your budget is but if there’s a wholefood grocery store anywhere near you, you can probably find some quick type snacks to keep handy in situations like this one. People FOREVER have been telling me to keep nuts and dried fruit in my handbag. Now really. Who on EARTH can be satisfied with that? I don’t mind the taste of those things but I’d much prefer one of Chocolate Covered Katie’s (she’s my fave) little snakkity-do’s in my bag. And really – as so incredibly simple and unsatisfying as this sounds… make sure you always have your water bottle. And even if you’re starving… down the whole bottle at once if you have to. It’ll save you. Even if just for 10 minutes (which is enough time to get somewhere else) – it can do the trick.
    Anyway, I hope it all goes well for you on this diet. I’ve only just found your blog and I’m really looking forward to reading more.
    You can do it you know…. 🙂 Even if you have to start a hundred more times. You can do it.

    • Aw – thanks! 😀

      We do have a Whole Foods about half an hour away. It’s a bit more pricy than I would have liked, but they do have some awesome stuff there. I will definitely be going there more often. Nuts and pita chips did completely save me one night at work when I had nothing, but yeah, nuts aren’t really my favorite. I’ve just started trying a few of Chocolate Covered Katie’s recipes, and I really liked the two that I just made. I’m looking forward to trying more of her recipes.

      Thank you so much for your kind words, tips, and encouragement!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

