Recipe Review: Coffee Cake and Pizza Hummus from Chocolate Covered Katie

I made two recipes tonight, and I decided to review them both at once since they came from the same website. It’s funny – I actually stumbled across this site back before I was trying to go vegan. I was on Weight Watchers, and one of Katie’s recipes was featured on another blog that I follow (Skinny Taste ). I checked out her site, and the recipes looked interesting, so I saved them. It wasn’t until this past summer, when I was looking for vegan recipes, that I realized her whole site was vegan. It’s funny what you don’t notice when you’re not looking for it. I have a feeling I’m going to be trying more of her recipes soon. If you’re looking for healthy desserts, definitely check out Chocolate Covered Katie.

Recipe Name: One Minute Coffee Cake in a Mug
Source of Recipe/Recipe Creator: Chocolate Covered Katie

Ease of Finding Ingredients: 5/5
Cheapness of Ingredients: 4/5
Ease of Following Recipe: 5/5
Opinion of Results: 4 /5

Overall Score: 18/20

This recipe was absolutely delicious! The only sort of pricy element to the dish was the vegan margarine, and really you could have replaced it with oil or applesauce, so that’s not even really a huge factor. The recipe was really easy to follow, and it only required a minute of cooking in the microwave. I mean, really, it doesn’t get much simpler than this. The only downside to it was that it required dirtying two different dishes and didn’t produce very much cake. Definitely delicious, though. I won’t be making it every night, but I will definitely be making it again!

Recipe Name: Melty Pizza Hummus
Source of Recipe/Recipe Creator: Chocolate Covered Katie

Ease of Finding Ingredients: 4
Cheapness of Ingredients: 5
Ease of Following Recipe: 5
Opinion of Results: 5

Overall Score: 19/20

I had my doubts that this would actually taste like pizza, but I was pleasantly surprised. It was great! You just dump all the ingredients in a food processor and mix until smooth. Really easy to make. Nutritional yeast is the only ingredient that would be hard for someone to find. Everything else you can get at the grocery store for very little money. This hummus and pita chips makes one yummy snack. I think I know what I’ll be bringing to eat once work starts up again!

Leave a Reply

