Weigh-in: Week 1

Okay, I meant to do this yesterday, but I somehow managed to forget that it was Thursday until late afternoon, and I prefer to weigh myself in the mornings before I eat anything, so I decided to just wait a day. Hopefully now that the holidays are over I’ll keep better track of what day it is. Also, I’ve decided to start counting the weeks making this week 1, even though my starting weight is from Thanksgiving.

Starting weight: 303.8
Previous weight: 300.6
Current weight: 299.6

Pounds lost this week: 1
Total weight lost: 4.2

Not the big number I was looking for to start the year, but considering I didn’t really track my food this week or exercise, I’ll take it. To be honest, I’m not really sure where this week has gone. Yesterday I woke up around noon and then spent a few hours cleaning my room. The day before I slept in and then spent the day grocery shopping (where our cart was filled with fruits and vegetables and little to no processed foods). The day before that I slept in really late because I had stayed up way too late the night before. I keep meaning to do something productive with my time, but I haven’t quite managed to do that yet.

I have, however, been eating better. I’ve started eating more hummus wraps with vegetables.I made one tabbouleh salad the other day that wasn’t all that great, so I’m going to have to try another recipe to see if I can find one that I like. I had tabbouleh at Whole Foods, and it was great. Now I just need to find a way to recreate it at home. I also have a bunch of other cold salads that I want to try before work starts.

My new food for the week is bulgur wheat. It’s not exactly new as I tried it before at Whole Foods (see tabbouleh above, which I’m fairly positive was made from bulgur), but this was my first time making it at home, so I’m still including it. Turns out it’s really easy to make, and really cheap at the market I go to. Mix half a cup of bulgur with a cup of water, bring to a boil, then remove from heat and wait until the bulgur absorbs the water, about 25 minutes. So easy! Also, a cup of cooked bulgur has about 150 calories, 8 grams of fiber, and 6 grams of protein. So that’s pretty cool. I experimented with a southwest-style bulgur dish yesterday, but I added way too many spices and not enough of anything else, so it was sort of gross unless I added some vegan sour cream to it. I think, though, that if I added more beans vegetables, it would have been good. Maybe I’ll try that again this weekend.

2 responses to “Weigh-in: Week 1

Leave a Reply

