Weigh-in: Week 2

Previous weight: 299.6
Current weight: 298.4
Weight lost: 1.2
Total weight lost: 5.4

Okay, so I’m two days late in writing this post. I didn’t write it on Thursday because I got distracted and forgot, and then I didn’t write it yesterday because I wasn’t really near my computer for most of the day. I actually think I’m going to change my weigh-in day to Friday, though, as I tend to weigh less on Fridays than I do on Thursdays.

I’m pleased about my weight loss this week, especially since I didn’t really exercise much this week. My mother and I went for a forty minute walk on Sunday, and that was about it for my exercise. School started this week, and I’ve been parking in the lot farthest away from my classes, so I guess that’s something.

I’ve also been working on eating better. I had my mother watch the movie Vegucated this past weekend, and she decided to go vegan with me – or at least mostly vegan, as she wants to use up the food we have in the house before she goes and buys a bunch of vegan alternatives. She’s decided that she wants to eat mostly whole foods and get away from all the processed junk, so that’s what we’re doing for the most part. We went to the farmer’s market downtown and bought a whole cart full of grains and fruits and vegetables. We actually have too many vegetables to fit in the vegetable drawers in the fridge. We’ve had falafel and rice/lentil/veggie salad, and a bunch of other delicious food that’s made of mostly whole ingredients.

That’s not to say that I’m only eating healthy food. I had three cookies at my boyfriend’s house yesterday. I’ve been eating regular mayonnaise in my sauce for the falafels. I’ve had a Boca chik’n patty on a tortilla. I think it’s important that I eat mostly whole foods but that I don’t obsess about it. I think that’s where I’ve gone wrong in the past. I’ve tried to change too many things all at once. Now I’m trying to change a bunch of things, yes, but I’m just aiming for eating more whole foods than I used to. I’m trying to make gradual changes that won’t drive me crazy.

And you know what? It’s actually fun.

Leave a Reply

