Let’s try this again

Okay, so it’s been about two and a half months since I last posted on here. As per the rules of this blog, though, I’m not going to beat myself up over that fact. I’m simply going to acknowledge it and move on. I am happy to announce, though, that I have not gained weight in the last two and a half months. I’ve actually lost weight.

Starting weight (Nov. 22, 2012): 303.8
Previous weight (Jan. 12, 2013): 298.4
Current weight (Mar. 30, 2013): 295.4

Weight loss since last weigh-in: 3 pounds
Total weight loss: 8.4 pounds

Okay, 8.4 pounds in 4 months isn’t really all that impressive. Still, I managed to keep the weight off without tracking anything or exercising at all (except for the exercise I get at work). And it’s not a gain, so that’s exciting.

I’ve decided to work harder on fixing my eating habits, though. I may not have gained weight, but I’m still eating way too many unhealthy foods, and I don’t like that. My mother has started this cleanse program that she saw on Dr. Oz a while ago, and I’ve decided to give it a try myself. It’s called the Clean Program. You can choose to buy the expensive shake packets and supplements, but we’re not doing that. We’re simply going to be following the recipes listed here: Clean Program Meal Plan. You can also get the Clean Program Manual here.

I’m sharing this information in case anyone’s curious what I’m doing. I’m not trying to say that anyone else should do it. I’m going to start it tomorrow. My mother’s been following the recipes for a week now, and she’s enjoying it. She says that she feels better, and she’s looking forward to continuing for the whole month. Since she seems to be enjoying it, I figured I would give it a try, as well, especially since work ended yesterday, and I’m going to have a lot more time on my hands now.

For anyone who doesn’t want to read a 48-page manual, here’s a summary of what I will be doing for the next three weeks:

I will be cutting out dairy, eggs, meat, gluten, soy, sugar, and caffeine. There’s a whole list in the manual, but these are the main things I won’t be eating. Obviously cutting out meat isn’t a problem for me since I do that anyway. There’s actually a version of this plan that allows you to eat certain fish and organic chicken and turkey, but I’m not doing that one. Eggs and dairy I’ve been meaning to cut out completely anyway, so that’s also not really a problem. Cutting out soy will be a little more difficult, but I’m sure I can manage. It’s the gluten, sugar, and caffeine that will be a problem. I eat those things all the time. Of course, I also know that caffeine and sugar isn’t all that great for you anyway, so it’s probably good that I cut it out for a while.

The gluten is really the big thing that I was on the fence about cutting. I know a lot of people have issues with it, but I don’t really think that I do. However, the goal of this cleanse is to cut out foods that are the biggest triggers for people and then slowly add them in later and see if they affect you, so I guess it can’t hurt to try it for a couple of weeks. I can always add it back in later.

You eat three meals on this program. You have a shake for breakfast (made mostly from fresh/frozen fruits and/or vegetables). Then you have lunch, which usually consists of a salad and some sort of entrée, which you can find in the Meal Plan PDF linked above. Dinner is some sort of vegetable soup. There’s a list of approved snacks you can eat if those meals aren’t enough, although I also have a list of several vegan snacks that I’ve found on other sites that I know fit the guidelines of this program.

I will be tracking my food on My Fitness Pal again, not because I think tracking is the best thing ever, but because I’m curious to see what the nutritional information will look like for such a meal plan.

I can’t promise to blog every day or anything, but I’ll try to post frequent updates on my progress.

Leave a Reply

