Cleanse Days 2+3

Day 2 of the cleanse was much better than Day 1. I still didn’t like the smoothie that I had in the morning . Even with the new vanilla powder, the drink was disgusting. I tried it again today, hoping I would like it better the second day, but I didn’t. I guess protein powders are not for me. Maybe next time I’m at Whole Foods I’ll get a sample of a few different ones, but I’m not anticipating finding one that I like.

For lunch the past two days, we’ve been eating the lentil and brown rice burgers featured on page 48 of the Clean Program Meal Plan. Those are really good. My mother also made some red pepper sauce to put on top of them. I put mine in a brown rice tortilla. I’m so glad we tried this recipe, as I was starting to fear that I had just signed up for the worst 3 weeks of my life.

I have learned that I can’t just stick with just three meals a day. Right now, my schedule looks like this:

Breakfast: 9-10 am
Lunch: 1-3 pm
Dinner: 8-9 pm

I need snacks. The first day, I ate most of the pineapple that we had in the fridge. Yesterday, I ended up stopping by the gas station on the way to school and buying two apples to eat before and after class. Today, I had an apple right before we left to go shopping, and then I had a banana while we were out. I also just had half a cup of a bean salad, which will keep me satisfied until dinner.

At first I felt bad about adding more food, but I’ve since decided not to let it get to me. For one thing, the program says you’re allowed to eat snacks – it just has to follow the guidelines of what you’re allowed to eat, which mine mostly do (more on that in a minute). For another thing, two of my snacks were pieces of fruit. An apple and a banana. You can’t tell me that those are bad for you. Which brings me to another thing I felt I should mention–

I’ve decided to eat two of the foods that you’re not supposed to eat on the cleanse.

Strawberries and bananas. Strawberries were supposed to be cut because a lot of people are allergic (and this cleanse is all about eliminating foods people commonly have problems digesting), but I know I’m not affected by strawberries, so I’m not going to let that bother me. Bananas might be high in sugar and starch, but they also keep me from starving, and they’ll make my smoothies taste better. I’m hoping strawberry-banana smoothies in the morning will keep me from going crazy in the mornings. And I’m still only having sugar found in fruits (and sometimes dates), so I’m still eating way better that I used to, so I’m not going to worry about it.

Besides – we got all these strawberries for less than $2.50! Come on, how could you resist?

0402131510

I was also reading something today about how we should try to eat fruits from all different colors of the rainbow. It started as a discussion on a forum, and that led to my looking up the book Color Me Vegan by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau. I started thinking about the different colors of food that I eat, and I realized that I’m actually eating all the colors now that I’m following this cleanse.

Breakfast: Yellow and Blue/Purple (pineapple and blueberries)
Snack: Yellow and Green/tan (banana and apple -not sure if you count the color of the skin or the inside)
Lunch: Brown, Green, and Red (lentil burger, brown rice tortilla, lettuce, and pepper sauce)
Dinner: Green, White, Orange (Veggie soup, lettuce, spinach, jicama, carrots, dressing)

I’m excited about eating all those different colors. I’m also excited about the fact that by the end of today, I’ll have eaten 8 servings of fruits and vegetables. I used to go a week and barely get that many. I just need to make sure that I keep this up after the cleanse is over. I need to grab an apple for a snack instead of a bag of chips. I need to remember that I don’t need 5 servings of bread to keep me full. I don’t need to eat pasta with every meal. Having a big salad once a day is refreshing, not boring. Eating this way might take a bit longer, as you can’t just stick the food in the microwave for a few minutes, but it’s definitely better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

