Week 1 Weigh-in

Previous weight: 295.4
Current weight: 291.0

This week’s weight loss: 4.4 pounds

I’m definitely excited to see the results of week 1 of my cleanse. I was afraid that I wouldn’t have lost anything, and that would be sad. That number definitely made the past two days worth it.

See, yesterday was my boyfriend’s birthday, and the day before that was his brother’s birthday, so we’ve been at his parents’ house for the last two days. I packed up enough food for those days so I could continue my cleanse there. His mother was very concerned about what I was eating (she has been since I stopped eating meat), but I stuck with the plan. They had a double-layer cookie cake with frosting that smelled delicious, and it was very hard to turn that down two days in a row, but I knew that the cleanse was more important. Three weeks without sugar. I can do that. After that, I’m allowed to have sugar again, but it has to be balanced with everything else that I eat. It should be a treat, not something I eat all day long.

Speaking of sweets, though – I did learn yesterday about the Worldwide Vegan Bake Sale. I remember hearing about it last April (when I started the vegan journey), but it was too late for me to actually go to it. Fortunately, I found it in time this year. The one in Atlanta is being held on Saturday, April 20 – the last day of my cleanse. I’m hoping I can talk my mother into going with me so we can buy some vegan treats to have after the cleanse is over (although not in one sitting, of course).

Overall, I’m happy with the way my first week has gone. I do think I’m going to try adding the protein powder back in to my shakes. I know vegans are sick of people asking where they get their protein from, but I actually do think I’m not getting enough protein. I’ve been getting 25-38 grams of protein each day. I haven’t been eating as many calories as I’m “supposed” to, so the fact that my protein numbers aren’t where they should be isn’t all that surprising. I know I hated the protein powder the last time I tried it, but I also hated the blueberries that were in it. I’m hoping that was the real reason I hated the shakes. I guess I’ll find out today.

Leave a Reply

