Week 5 Weigh-in

Previous weight: 287
Current weight: 284
This week’s weight loss: 3 pounds

This was a good week. I’m almost back to where I was before I messed everything up last week. I’m still 20 pounds lighter than I was when I started. I don’t really feel any different than I did at Thanksgiving, and I wear the same size clothes as I did then, but I’m trying not to let that bother me. I guess my pants are a bit loser than they used to be. I currently wear a size 24, and for a while there even those were getting sort of tight. So I guess I am making progress – it’s just a little slower than I would have liked.

Pant sizes are strange. I gained 60 pounds and went from an 18 to a 24. I lose 20 pounds, and my pants just get a bit looser. I had sort of hoped for more than that, but I’m not going to let it get to me. I’m learning to eat better. I’m losing weight. That’s what matters.

This week, I exercised three times. I did 30 minutes on the elliptical Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday. I’m going to do the same thing this upcoming week, although I might up it to an hour. I’ve tracked my food everyday, and I was only over my calories one day, and then it was only by like 20 calories. Other days I was like 400 calories under, so I think it all balances out.

I’ve also been better about eating more fruits and vegetables again. I checked out the book “Wild About Greens” from the library, and I have a bunch of recipes from that book lined up for this week. Tonight we’re having quinoa, chard, and chickpeas. We also have a big salad in the fridge at all times, which makes it easier to grab something healthy when we’re hungry. I also got a bunch of apples for snacks, and I’ve continued to have a smoothie for breakfast.

I haven’t been craving sweets as much as I used to. I still want them sometimes, but I know that they’ll make me ill, so it’s not that big of a deal. I used to crave them a lot after I ate something savory, but lately I’ve just been drinking a lot of water during those times, and that satisfies the urge even better than sweets did.

Leave a Reply

